Fighting Fate

Annyeong! (Hi!)

Are you ready for another walk down the Korean drama lane?

The quote above from Publilius Syrus is just one of the many quotes featured in the ongoing Korean t.v. series entitled Criminal Minds starring Lee Joon-gi (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Joon-gi).

By the way, Publilius Syrus was a Latin writer famous for writing sententiae which are brief moral sayings such as proverbs, adages, maxims often quoted without context.

Anyway, as expected I am pulled again into the vortex of my mind and sent various thoughts spiralling into it as I tried to decipher the meaning behind this line.

Lately, the events happening in my life make me feel like I am riding the craziest ride of my life. The ups and downs I had taken made me dizzy and felt suspended in bated breath all throughout the ride. I feel I haven’t reached the end of it, my heart still on my mouth, choking me with apprehension. 

Seeing the quote made me agree with Publilius Syrus. Fate indeed is not satisfied with one calamity. I just hope and pray that when it released its hold on me, I can still stand on my feet again. I am beginning to weaken under its relentless onslaught but my faith won’t allow me to get carried away and wallow in depression. I am maybe weary and wary, my heart often beats like a deafening roll of drums in my ears, but I can’t afford to acknowledge my weakness for the sake of the people dependent upon me. 

I may cry out my frustrations and fears and doubts in the best possible way I know but I can never let them seep into my every being. I have to fight over and above these calamities fate brought upon me. I have to win this fight!

Leave a comment